Ads from Google:

Google ad
End of ad
Google Adsense ad
End of ads.

Overcoming Grief; Stages of Grief

Abstract: Stages in overcoming grief: Acceptance, experiencing, adjustment, reinvesting.

Web4Health logo
psychologist Independent medical expert answers on psychiatry and psychology

Overcoming Grief; Stages of Grief

Intelligent natural language question-answering in the area of psychology and psychiatry. Ask a simple question  Local help Info

Go the top of the page Top Forum iconDiscuss this Forum iconGet expert advice Printer Print
Written by: Fabio Piccini, doctor and Jungian psychotherapist, in charge of the "Centre for Eating Disorders Therapy" at the “Malatesta Novello” Clinic in Cesena. Works privately in Rimini and Chiavari. E-mail:
First version: 22 Jul 2008.
Latest revision: 20 Aug 2008.

What shall I do to get over grief? What are the stages of overcoming grief?


According to Worden, one of the most famous experts on grief therapy in the world, there are four tasks in mourning:

_ accept reality of loss

_ experience and bear the pain or grief

_ adjust to a world in which the dead person is missing

_ withdraw and reinvest emotional energy.

The tasks of mourning begin with the acceptance of the reality of the loss. Being present at the death, seeing the body after death, and the rituals of a funeral all help to bring this home to the bereaved.

All intrapsychic change is stressful and most people at some stage try to avoid the pain of grief.

They may search for a substitute for the relation that is lost (for example, they may re-marry quickly, or adopt another child in place of the one they lost).

It is much wiser, though initially more lonely and painful, to wait until grieving is complete before attempting to form a new relationship.

Adjusting to a world in which the dead person is missing entails changing many of the rituals of daily life and may include taking on some of the functions previously assumed by the dead person (if, for example, in a young family the father dies, mother finds that has to play some of the father’s roles too, and, in doing so, she becomes a whole, more balanced individual).

In the early stages of mourning, the bereaved person is preoccupied with the memory of the dead. It is as if the psyche has to re-evaluate all the aspects of the relationship and get it into perspective, accepting and forgiving the bad, and appreciating the good, before letting go.

Intelligent natural language question-answering in the area of psychology and psychiatry. Ask a simple question:
Local help Info
Google ad
End of ad
Disclaimer: The documents contained in this web site are presented for information purposes only. The material is in no way intended to replace professional medical care or attention by a qualified psychiatrist or psychotherapist. It can not and should not be used as a basis for diagnosis or choice of treatment. If you find anything wrong, please notify us at .
Go to top of page To top of page
Web4Health in other languages: Finnish German Greek Italian Polish Russian Swedish

life-grief-overcome Copyright 2003-2017 Web4Health
Copyright 2003-2017 Web4Health.
Web4Health was selected as finalist for the 2008 Stockholm Challenge Award
Translate Web4Health
We seek voluntary translators who are interested in translating Web4Health to new languages. We can provide the servers, and pay you 50 % of the income from ads on pages, which you have translated. We are especially interested in translators from German To English, From German, Swedish or English to French, Spanish, Italian, Greek, Finnish, Polish, Farsi, Russian.

Advertise here
Reach 300 000 visitors reading one million pages for a cost of 600 US $/month.